The Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Joint Press Statement of the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement Negotiating Parties

Representatives from Australia, Canada, the European Union, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland and the United States reaffirmed their commitment to the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement at aTokyo signing ceremony hosted by the Government of Japan. Representatives of eight governments -- Australia, Canada, Japan, Republic of Korea, Morocco, New Zealand, Singapore and the United States -- signed the agreement and took a major step towards its entry into force. Representatives of the European Union, Mexico and Switzerland attended the ceremony and confirmed their continuing strong support for and preparations to sign the agreement as soon as practicable. All participants expressed their firm resolve to work cooperatively to achieve the agreement's prompt entry into force and to support actively its goals.